General information


SmartLink: South-East-West Mobility for Advanced Research, Learning, Innovation, Network and Knowledge” project is funded under Erasmus Mundus Action 2 (EMA2) – Strand I - Call for Proposals EACEA/18/13. The SmartLink consortium has 20 partners and 5 associates covering large geographical regions of EU and South Asia. The project has representations from 8 European (UK, Germany, France, Poland, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Greece and Portugal) and 11 Asian countries (Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Indonesia, Maldives, Nepal, North Korea, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Thailand). The project is coordinated by Professor Keshav Dahal of the Artificial intelligence, Visual Communication and Networks (AVCN) research centre at the University of the West of Scotland (UWS).


SmartLink focuses on fostering international cooperation between European Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) and HEIs in emerging Asian countries through the promotion of mobility at all level of studies for Undergraduate students, Masters students, PhD candidates, Post-doctoral researchers, academics and administrative staff. The aim is to strengthen the existing partnership and foster new partnerships by realizing 160 research staff and students mobility in both ways. The project will support 116 mobility from Asia to Europe (29 UG, 26 PG, 23 PhDs, 13 PostDocs and 25 staff), and 44 mobility from Europe to Asia (3 UG, 3 PG, 6 PhDs, 7 PostDocs and 25 staff).


The SmartLink cooperation will cover various disciplines with strong focus on research and training in the field of Smart technologies for a wide range of application areas as shown in Figure. Effective use of technologies in all academic activities and increased intercultural competence are included in the project activities. SmartLink aims to address the research and technological challenges in these areas by providing the research, education and professional training to talented Asian students and staff at European institutions with focus on regional needs. This will promote European Universities as ‘centres of excellence’ in teaching, research and professional practice and enhance the image, visibility, attractiveness and accessibility of European HE and research in the participating Asian countries.




The monthly allowances for the mobility scholarship are:

The Mobility scholarship will cover the following: 

  • Monthly allowance for the mobility period as below:
    • Undergraduates 1,000 €
    • Masters 1,000 €
    • Doctorate 1,500 €
    • Post-Doctoral 1,800 €
    • Staff 2,500 €
  • University fee 
  • One return (OR two one-way) ticket(s) from home country to host country and return
  • Reimbursement of visa cost against the original receipts
  • Insurance certificate covering minimum requirements of EACEA in host country for the mobility period

The accommodation and living costs in the partner universities in different countries can be found for the partner university webpages, please check our Institutions pages.  

There have been some changes in the UK visa requirements. Some information about the cost of life and visa requirements of the UK partners  can be found the following sites:





EACEA - Privacy Statement

If candidates/applicants are selected (proposed for a scholarship/fellowship, put on the reserve list or enrolled on a self-paying basis) their data may be used for the purposes of evaluating the programmes, efficiently manage the projects, and producing statistics. Data could be made available to the EACEA, the European Commission, the European External Action Service staff, as well as to other stakeholders of the Erasmus+ programme, such as Erasmus+ National Agencies, National Erasmus+ Offices and the Erasmus Mundus Student and Alumni Association.